Bob Seger System – Innervenus Eyes

Example

Bob Seger circa 1969

Example

Listen – Bob Seger System – Innervenus Eyes- MP3

Greetings all.
I hope everyone is having a good week.
You’re getting this one a day early because I’m taking the rest of the week off from the blog-o-sphere, so I figured I get all my ducks in a row, as it were.
I’ve gone on about the early, much cooler days of Bob Seger in this space before. If the concept is an unfamiliar one, the brief recap is thus:
Back in the olden days of Dee-troit sounds, Seger, first with the Last Heard, and slightly further on with the System, laid down some very heavy sounds, ranging from pure, fuzzed out garage snot, proto-whiteboy soul (not too far removed from Grand Funk-osity) and all-around good stuff that will flip the wig of anyone who thinks he’s all about ‘Like A Rock’ and other such commercial soundtrackery.
The tune I bring you today might be considered mid-period Seger, coming as it does from the days of the Bob Seger System (right in the middle as it were), before he struck out as a solo.
As I’ve heard it told, by 1969 the world of the regional rock bigshot was starting to leave a heavy imprint on the weary mind of Mr Seger, so much so that he was apparently considering chucking it all and going back to school (bringing to mind the nightmare vision of Bob Seger CPA).
It was during this period that Seger allowed a fellow named Tom Neme to join the band, and – it appears – take a significant amount of control. The second Bob Seger System LP ‘Noah’ features no less than five Neme compositions (a full half of the album). I’ve seen a quote from a 1972 interview where Seger makes it clear that he was on the verge of dropping out of the business, thus ceding a hunk of that album to Neme.
I’ve never been able to score a copy of ‘Noah’, so I can’t speak on the comparative quality of Neme’s songwriting or performance. The record I bring you today makes that something of a moot point, since it features one of Seger’s songs from the album.
‘Innervenus Eyes’ is a pretty hairy ride. Whether this is a direct reflection of the man’s psychological travails, or merely a taste of 1969 freakout is up for debate. I’ve always been a big fan of Seger’s early period vocals. That end of the 60s was positively thick with screamy whiteboy wanna be soul revue frontmen. Seger had enough of an actual voice to stay just this side of extreme, and his singing on cuts like ‘East Side Story’, ‘Heavy Music’ and ‘Ramblin’ Gamblin’ Man’ is very cool.
That said, I hope you dig the tune.
Hang tight and I’ll be back on Monday with something groovy.
Peace
Larry

Example

PS Head over to Funky16Corners for two interesting covers from the world of James Brown.

PSS Check out Paperback Rider too…

7 Comments

  1. Very interesting post. Was not aware how long he’d been in the business.
    Good stuff.

  2. Larry, you know I am down with that vintage Bob Seger. Thanks for another terffic cut.

  3. I meant a terrific cut.

    Thank goodness I’m starting a week off from the salt mine, and I know you know what I mean.

  4. Jeff
    I do. I SO know what you mean…
    L

  5. And to think all i used to know of this guy was the Beverly Hills Cop II theme song and and some inkling of his somehow being connected to those early MTV 80’s video’s (i could be wrong that he was one of those handful of videos responsible for killing the radio star but understandably never been interested enough to check it out).

    Thanks for the re-education Larry. He was one of Detroit’s finest from what I’ve been listening to.

  6. Hi – I have a copy right here – sealed. Maybe I should open it up and listen to it! I was going to bring it to the record fair this weekend!

  7. Once upon I owned “Noah” on LP…once upon a time I did a lot of stupid stuff. Thanks, this was the strongest cut on the album by far. It will help me convince certain young people that there was more to Seger than Chevy truck commercials.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,532 other followers