Bob Lind – Cheryl’s Goin’ Home

Example

Bob Lind and a really terrible picture of his record…

Example

Listen -Bob Lind – Cheryl’s Goin’ Home – MP3

Greetings all.

It’s been a long weekend, which I foolishly ended by spending way too much time outside doing yard work. This was partially the fault of the sudden, bizarre Nor’Easter-ish weather we had at the end of the week which dropped a big tree limb in the yard (and blocked the street) and dumped sticks and leaves all over the place. I’m no fan of a finely manicured lawn, but there was enough debris that I figured if I left it alone it had the potential to turn into something that might kill a whole weekend down the line. I had to head out with my axe while the storm was still happening to dismantle the tree limb (it was too big to move in one piece) and move the wood out of the way (which was, as you can imagine a hoot of the first order).
So, I waded into the mess with my new cordless hedge trimmer (how suburban Dad is that?), rake and giant garbage can and did what I could to restore order, on account of that’s how I roll.
That said, the tune I bring you today was something of a happy surprise (I like those).
While out digging, I happened upon a copy of Bob Lind’s 1966 ‘Don’t Be Concerned’ LP, which featured the hit ‘Elusive Butterfly’. I wouldn’t say that I’m a big fan of that song, but I rarely pass up any 60s pop LP, since they often contain hidden treasures. I’m happy to say that this one did too.
Lind signed with World Pacific in 1965 and had a Top 10 hit (in the US and the UK) with ‘Elusive Butterfly’ the following year.
A cursory glance at his career would suggest that after that things didn’t really go anywhere in particular. But, to paraphrase Ike and Tina, we never do anything ‘cursory’, and a little digging reveals that Lind’s biggest success was not as a recording artist, but as a songwriter, with scores of artists covering his material.
As I mentioned before, ‘Don’t Be Concerned’ contained some hidden treasures, one of which is the tune I bring you today, ‘Cheryl’s Goin’ Home’.
A fantastic chiming bit of folk rock (arranged by none other that the mighty Jack Nitzsche) , ‘Cheryl’s Goin’ Home’ was covered by Adam Faith (who had a hit with the song in the UK), Sonny & Cher, the Blues Project, the Bystanders and the Hondells.
I’m especially fond of this tune because it gives off the kind of vibe that was so prevalent in the dawning garage punk scene. It’s not hard to imagine a tune like ‘Cheryl’s Goin’ Home’, a little bit rougher, with a touch of lo-fi goodness, being beaten half to death in some suburban garage, strained through mail-order guitars and a single, overtaxed amplifier.
I hope you dig the tune, and I’ll be back later in the week with something tasty.

Peace

Larry

Example

PS Head over to Funky16Corners for some New Orleans funk

5 Comments

  1. Speaking of lo-fi goodness, have you heard the version by Les Sauterelles? I think you’ll like it.

  2. I’d love to hear that. I have a great 45 by the Sauterelles but haven’t heard anything else of theirs.

  3. Thanks for posting that – I’d never heard Bob Lind’s version before, but knew the song as interpreted by John Otway and Wild Willy Barrett back in the late 70s/early 80s – it was an unforgettable highlight of their sets back then. You’re not far off with your statement, “It’s not hard to imagine a tune like ‘Cheryl’s Goin’ Home’, a little bit rougher, with a touch of lo-fi goodness, being beaten half to death…”
    youtubed evidence here:

    But wait there’s more! Looking for Otway information to cite on the internet, I came across the following review at the Trouser Press website:
    “In a mind-boggling leap of conceptual invention, Otway and performance poet Attila the Stockbroker (John Baine) managed to spring an entire theatrical entertainment from “Cheryl’s Goin’ Home,” the 1965 Bob Lind B-side that has been in Otway’s repertoire from the very start of his career. Creating a convoluted and calamitous saga of star-crossed romance, railroad fetishists and randy goats told from conflicting perspectives in narration (Attila) and song (Otway), the pair staged Cheryl in England and then recorded it. Owing more to Attila’s wickedly peevish rhymes than Otway’s fairly functional songs, Cheryl: A Rock Opera is a hysterical slash of radio-play silliness (à la Frank Sidebottom) about a gullible sap in love with a drug-addicted prostitute who finds yuppie success as a Conservative Party direct-mail marketing executive. (Or something like that.) A couple of nasal rap interludes (by “MC Trainspotter and the Platform 2 Live Crew”) are intrusively cloddish, but otherwise Cheryl is in the running as this generation’s truly off-Broadway Tommy.”

  4. Wow! I’d love to see/hear that. It’s amazing how many times a song this obscure has been covered.

  5. Hi , The Cascades had a semi hit in 66′ of Cheryl’s Going Home backed with Truly Julie’s Blues if memory serves me well after all these years


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,492 other followers