The Merry Go Round – Live

Example

The Merry Go Round

Example

Listen -The Merry Go Round – Live – MP3

Greetings all.

I hope all is well on your end.
Earlier this week I dug back into a couple of old boxes of neglected 45s, and in addition to a couple of nice soul 45s for Funky16Corners, I pulled out about a dozen selections for Iron Leg, all of which will appear in this space in the coming months.
There’s something to be said for burrowing back into existing stock when you find yourself in otherwise lean record buying times.
Other than that, I find myself at the end of a busy week, looking forward to stockpiling some rest and relaxation credits over the weekend. I may or may not – depending on how I feel when I get up on Saturday morning – mow the lawn, or (and this will require a special level of concentration that I am not always privy to on the weekend) take my new chainsaw out for a test drive on the pile of tree limbs next to the driveway.
Before I dive into any of that mess, it behooves me to bring you a selection with which to finish out the week.
Way back in the olden days, when I was but a long-haired lad awash in the jangle and fuzz of a bygone era, I happened to hear a tune on the first Bangles* album that a quick glance at the credits indicated was in fact a cover. It wasn’t long before I tracked down the original, by a group called the Merry Go Round. The name of the group’s leader – Emitt Rhodes – was vaguely familiar and I soon tracked down the Rhino Records Merry Go Round comp and fell in love with their music (and later still with Rhodes’ solo albums).
‘Live’ is a perfect amalgam of pop and Sunset Strip folk rock, with s sunny, proto-hippie message of liberation, all wrapped in bright, tight harmonies and jangly guitar. The song was a Top 100 it in 1967 (Top 10 in California) and the Merry Go Round had at least one more minor hit with ‘You’re a Very Lovely Woman’** later that year. Their sole LP (which I was lucky enough to find a copy of this summer) also features ‘Time Will Show the Wiser’, which was covered in the UK by none other than Fairport Convention.
If you haven’t checked out the Merry Go Round (or Rhodes’ solo stuff), there are plenty of CD reissues that cover both phases of his career, and they are all worth checking out.
I hope you dig the tune, and I’ll be back on Monday

Peace

Larry

Example

*Say what you want about ‘Walk Like and Egyptian’, but in their early days the Bangles were a fantastic 60s-style pop band. Their first EP on IRS, and their first full-length album (where they cover ‘Live’) are both worth looking for if you have a taste for the Paisley Underground era.

**I have a VERY interesting cover of that song coming up very soon.

PS Head over to Funky16Corners for some blue-eyed Northern Soul

4 Comments

  1. you’re oh so right about the Bangles. I’ve bored you with this before but a local Red Shield store has a fantastic “oldies” satellite hook-up and they have played both “Live” and “7 & 7 Is” on separate occasions while I was perusing their junk.

    Emitt’s solo effort “Fresh As a Daisy” got lots of AM airplay in my area; great stuff.

  2. Porky
    I was shocked years ago (like 1986) when I was playing a tape of Rhodes’ stuff at work and an older woman came up and recognized it. She told me how he was a fixture in teen magazines at the time. I always assumed he was more obscure than that.
    L

  3. I fell in love with the Bangles from the very first bars of “The Real World” on the EP.

  4. I’m not sure I’m with you on the Bangles (maybe I was too close to them at the time), but I’m with you on the Merry Go Round. Ahh, time to put Listen, Listen on the turntable.

    See you on the flip-side,

    Morgan


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,504 other followers