Unrelated Segments – Where You Gonna Go

Example

The Unrelated Segments

Example

Listen/Download -Unrelated Segments – Where You Gonna Go

Greetings all.

The new week is upon us, and I figured it was time to drop a smoking hot garage punk 45.

I can’t remember exactly when I first heard the Unrelated Segments mighty ‘Where You Gonna Go’ (though it was almost certainly in the ‘85/’86 range) but I can say with absolute certainty that it moved directly into a position of honor as one of my all-time favorites.

Many things being easier said than done, it was a long, long time (close to 25 years) before I actually got my hands on a copy.

The Unrelated Segments were one of a number of rock and soul groups (including the Tidal Waves and the Four Gents) that were part of the Detroit, Michigan-based SVR Records stable. They all had tracks licensed to Hollywood, California’s HBR (as in Saturday morning cartoon juggernaut Hanna-Barbera) Records, and then later to Liberty.

In many ways the Unrelated Segments are an example of a classic, ‘upper level’ garage punk outfit, in that they made the transition from local/regional labels to national distribution. They had a raw, undiluted punk sound and their 45s are some of the finest of the era.

‘Where You Gonna Go’ is unique in their catalog in that it seems to carry in its grooves the influence of the mighty 13th Floor Elevators. No matter how many times I listen to the track the first thing that grabs me is whatever the band uses (maybe plucked bass strings?) to approximate the Elevators amplified jug, and the rhythm guitar line that sounds like it was lifted right off of ‘Psychedelic Sounds’.

The flipside, ‘It’s Gonna Rain’ is a great, dark garage ballad.

The band was together for a little over two years, releasing three killer 45s in 1966 and 1967, the last being the epic ‘Cry Cry Cry’.

They were very popular in the Detroit area, with their records burning up local radio and the band playing at venues like the Grande Ballroom alongside legends like the MC5.

I hope you dig this one, and I’ll be back next week.

Peace

Larry

 

Example


PS Head over to Funky16Corners for some soul.

2 Comments

  1. I’ve never noticed the Elevators likeness before on this song but now that you’ve pointed it out I think you’re right.

  2. Man Oh man, what a great double sided single this is. This first came to me about the same time as to you, via Back From The Grave, if I recall correctly. I was able to grab the single early on and, I had forgotten this until your post, my band covered the Flip-Side which has some great bass work on it. I’m gonna have to pull that single out tonight when i get home. Cheers.

    On The Flip-Side


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,511 other followers