Homer and Jethro – (All I Want For Christmas Is) My Upper Plate

Example

Homer and Jethro

Example

Listen/Download – Homer and Jethro – (All I Wabt For Christmas Is) My Upper Plate

Greetings all.

I hope everyone had a chance to pull down the ones and zeros for this month’s Iron Leg Radio Show.

I was rummaging wround the record room looking for a Funky16corners-related 45 that I had misfiled, with no plans for an Iron Leg holiday post, when I happened upon a neglected stack of weird old records.

My father-in-law is always grabbing records for me in the field. Sometimes they are very groovy (many of which you’ve seen here and at F16C) and sometimes they are…not.

This particular stack never really got the proper level of perusal, having been composed largely of childrens records and a Fabian side or two.

However, when I picked up the stack to get at something else, what should pop out of the pile but a Homer and Jethro Christmas EP!

Homer and Jethro – if’n you don’t know – were a very successful couple of cornpone comedians who were the hayseed Weird Als of their day, laying a little comedy on the Nashville crowd.

They did song parodies and original material, surfing all kinds of pop-culture waves throughout their long career, lasting from the 40s to the 60s (‘Homer’ aka Henry Haynes, passing away in 1971).

They were very popular, even winning a Grammy in 1959 for Best Comedy Record for ‘The Battle of Kookamonga’ (a takeoff on Johnny Horton’s ‘Battle of New Orleans’).

The EP you see before you –‘Seasoned Greetings’ – was released in 1953, and contains parodies of four very popular Christmas songs.

The one I chose to post today is their parody of Spike Jones’s already comedic ‘(All I Want For Christmas Is) My Two Front Teeth’ entitled ‘(All I Want For Christmas Is) My Upper Plate’.

Here the boys wax wistful about a missing denture, and it’s all worth it if only for the deeply reverbed ‘mashed per-taters’ line in the middle of the song.

You get some cool mandolin (the country gravy on the plate) and a couple of sound effects as well.

The whole affair is kind of tame by today’s standards, but funny nonetheless.

I hope you dig it, and I’ll see you next week.

Peace

Larry

 

Example


PS Head over to Funky16Corners for some soul.

3 Comments

  1. Haha great song!

  2. Merry Christmas Larry. I love these guys and Jethro Burns was a world-class mandolin player. He did some all-stars records with Chet Atkins and other A-team players that absolutely cook.

  3. Ditto to Porky’s comment. I have collected as much as I could of H&J ESPECIALLY their 2 ‘Straight’ instrumental LPs (one IS called ‘Playing It Straight’ as I recall) under their own name and ALSO The Striingdusters on RCA with Chet Atkins sittin’ in (THAT I still have on a 10″ LP). After Homer died, Jethro put some nice stuff (solo and with Joe Venuti and others) out on Flying Fish in the 70s WELL worth checking out….also some live releases on David Grisman’s Acoustic Records. He’s also on various Steve Goodman tracks starting in his Asylum days…Goodman did gigs with him where he played Homer to Jethro that are legendary and a few tracks exist here and there in Goodman’s canon.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,487 other followers