New Colony Six – At the River’s Edge

Example

Chicago’s finest, the New Colony Six

Example

Listen/Download – New Colony Six – At the River’s Edge

Greetings all.

The record I bring you today is a long (loooong) time favorite that I only managed to get my mitts on recently.

I have been a fan of the both sides of the New Colony Six for a long time.

When I say “both” I refer to their early garage/British R&Beat sound early days on Sentar/Centaur and their hitmaking, soft pop sound (on Mercury) from a few years later.

Though they made strong, regional chartings with their early sides, it wasn’t until 1968 with ‘I Will Always Think About You’ and ‘Things I’d Like To Say’ that they broke nationally.

They got their start in Chicago in 1964 as the Patsmen, eventually changing over to the New Colony Six when they started to record.

The NC6 recorded seven singles and two albums for Sentar/Centaur in 1966 and 1967 before moving to Mercury in 1968.

Though the R&Beat sound wasn’t as big over here as the more melodic side of the British Invasion, it did have its pockets of influence and adherents, among them the New Colony Six.

Today’s selection ‘At the Rivers Edge’ would almost pass for a savage bit of Nederbeat if you didn’t know any better.

Certainly the roots – Yardbirds, Animals, Them e.g. – are all evident but there’s a layer of translation/interpretation there as well that pushes the whole affair to another level.

The wailing harmonica, combo organ and pounding bass and guitar, along with a wave of handclaps/footstomps all join together to make a 45 that is not only singularly powerful but light years beyond much of what was coming out in America at the time.

As I mentioned before, the New Colony Six underwent a fairly jarring transformation when they moved to Mercury. I dig their later stuff, but I imagine a lot of garage/R&B fans would find it hard to stomach.

I hope you dig the track, and I’ll see you all next week.

Peace

Larry

 

Example


PS Head over to Funky16Corners for some soul.

2 Comments

  1. as an IL resident I’m lucky to have most of these NC6 45’s as they got tons of airplay on Chicago AM radio. Had to settle for the Eva re-issue of their first LP, though, as an original has always eluded me.

    Always dug their version of Bo’s “Cadillac” too.

    • It’s so sad to me that the days of regional scene/airplay are gone. The thought of a band/artist being able to experience success on that level before (if ever) breaking nationally, and local music scenes having distinct “sounds” is so much more interesting than what we have today.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,492 other followers