The Semi-Colons? – Beachcomber

Example

Rudy and the Boys (above), Bobby (below)

Example

Example

Listen/Download – The Semi-Colons? – Beachcomber

Greetings all.

How about something a little crazy to flip thy wig?

A long-ass time ago (I can’t even remember when or where) I grabbed the 45 you see before you today.

I can’t even remember why I picked it up, other than maybe it looked interesting and was cheap (like so many other records in my vinyl cave).

That said, when I gave it a spin I was gassed, on account of ‘Beachcomber’ is a very groovy, fast-moving instrumental, and, when I gave the label a closer look I saw that it was credited to Bobby Darin.

My interest piqued, I started digging around a little and discovered – cue up wig flip number two – that the band on the disc, labeled as the Semi-Colons? Was in fact Question Mark and the Mysterians!

Whoa…

What was the deal?

That question remains largely unanswered to this day.

The record dates from 1967, and was a cover of an even more obscure piano instrumental that Darin recorded and released in 1960 (itself quite cool, if taken at a much more relaxed pace).

The flipside, ‘Set Aside’ is less interesting, but credited to members of the Mysterians, it does provide a direct link to the band.

Now, as I mentioned, Question Mark et al take the original Darin instro and cook it up into something much, much faster, dancier and all around cooler.

Where Darin’s OG has Mancini-esque pretensions, the Semi-Colons? tear into it in a Jerry Lee Lucid stylee.

Oddly (or maybe not) ‘Beachcomber’was left off the Cameo/Parkway Question Mark & the Mysterians comp that came out a few years ago and as far as I can tell is not currently in print in any form.

I would love the opportunity to whip this one on a room full of dancers.

I hope you dig it and I’ll be back next week with some more coolness.

Peace

Larry

 

Example


PS Head over to Funky16Corners for some soul.

3 Comments

  1. Hello Iron Leg, This is Robert (Bobby) Lee Balderrama (Guitarist) from the original Question Mark and the Mysterians. I would like to tell you the real story about The Semicolons and the song Beachcomber.
    I played on the song too along with all the original band members.
    Best Regards
    Bobby B.

    • Hello Iron Leg, can you post the b-side to Beach Comber, its called Set A Side, it was the original by The Mysterians.
      Thanks
      bobby b.

      • I’ll record it and post it this week!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,352 other followers