10 comments on “The Genius of Droopy Dog (and the wolf, man….)

  1. I love Tex Avery’s work as well, he was truly one of the giants… What you’re doing for your young’ns is a wonderful thing. Keep on schooling them on what animated short subjects are supposed to look like.

    Peace and blessings.

  2. To tie to your previous post about Mister Magoo’s Charley, here’s a link to a censored Droopy clip with some inappropriate racial content. I still love Droopy and anything coming from good old Tex Avery. I don’t know if it was included on the DVD set you are mentioning.
    Here’s the link:

  3. To answer the previous poster, all the Droopy cartoons on the WHV release are uncut and uncensored. I love Tex Avery’s cartoons, too, but I was kind of wondering what you felt about some of the racial gags in some of them. “Droopy’s Good Deed,” for example, has a gag where the bulldog sticks a bomb in someone’s hat that Droopy goes to retrieve and the man starts to give him reward money. The bulldog takes Droopy’s place and the bomb goes off turning them both into black cariacatures. As much as I love MGM cartoons, racial gags like the one I describe pop up in a lot of them (to say nothing of the Mammy Two-Shoes character in the Tom and Jerry cartoons from the same studio, which I also love), so I was curious to know what you may have thought in light of the previous posting of “The Racial Politics of Mr. Magoo.” Just wondering, that’s all.

  4. I thought that specific instance (which Alejandro links to above) is awful – as bad as any of the Bugs Bunny “bow & scrape” caricatures I referenced in the Magoo piece. Thankfully they are (at least in the Droopy shorts) fairly rare (there’s at least one other bit where there’s an explosion and the bulldog ends up looking like a pickaninny) as opposed to the Magoo series in which Charley is a regular character.
    I am continually shocked (though I guess I shouldn’t be, history being what it is) that those kinds of jokes were deemed acceptable in cartoons from a major studio. No matter that they were intended for adults, the racial gags are stupid and offensive, especially in contrast to some of the really funny (and non-offensive) jokes in the shorts.
    I know it may seem blashpemous, but I prefer the later shorts (esp the Lah directed ones in Cinemascope) to the earlier Avery stuff. I find the tone of the humor less manic, and the look is amazing.

  5. Not me. I much prefer the manic energy of Tex Avery’s cartoons to Lah’s. You are right, though, that the look is amazing (thank God they’re letterboxed: I saw them for years on TV in their pan-and-scan version and seeing them letterboxed, you can see details you never saw before), but these came out at a time when all the cartoon studios were influenced by the graphics of the UPA studio (that brought us Mr. Magoo). I personally prefer the full animation styling of the 40s where Avery was at his full-out craziest. But that’s just me. We can disagree to agree.

  6. Hi Larry, Found your new site after being a Funky 16 Corners devotee for many months.

    Just got back from a brief holiday in France and saw a whole evening on the local version of Cartoon Network featuring Tex Avery, the majority of a two hour slot turned over to the superb Droopy. As a big fan of the lovable, dour Droopy, it seemed strange to hear the cartoons overdubbed in French, but fortunately I remember most of the dialogue and could recite many of the lines as I watched – much to the wife’s annoyance!

    I guess it is a bit if an age thing, but in my opinion, they really don’t make cartoons of this standard and subtle humour any more. Thanks for the reminder and for bringing it to our attention.

  7. Great post. Ive been trying to look up that ‘jubileo’ song that the southern wolf sings… are you sure thats what its called? if so, do you know of a place where i could find a version of it? Thanks!

  8. Wikipedia lists it as “Kingdom Coming” (aka “Jubalio”). A good link to a .midi file is found at:

    http://www.gospelsonglyrics.org/midis/kingdom_comin.mid

    The lyrics are typical for the time, which means they’re not something you can post today. That website lists the song as “Kingdom Comin'” and was composed by Henry Clay Work in 1862. This song is also know as “The Year Of Jubilo”.

  9. Thanks for the insight on the Southern wolf in the later Droopy’s. I, too, positively love this character, even though, by and large, I usually don’t care for the post-1955 cartoons.

Leave a Reply

