9 comments on “All Hail the Roman Gods!

  1. Definitely one of the alltime greats! I still regularly spin my Roman Gods and Hexbreaker LPs. A few years ago, I was gonna be interviewed for a magazine, and I nearly shit when I found out the writer of the article was none other than Pete Zaremba! I was quite starstruck, I must admit.

  2. Totally unrelated to the music – but Leslie’s got you beat in the book department. Her bag is mystery novels as she has literally hundreds of titles from all the popular authors…

    Back to the music: you have to remember when MTV used to air “IRS’s The Cutting Edge” , or when the USA network did Peter Ivers New Wave Theatre back in the 80s. I’d love to find some of that old footage on DVD, wishful thinking…

    Have you ever seen “Urgh! A Music War”? I do believe the Fleshtones perform a tune or two on it. I’ll dig out my DVD and let you know.

  3. Vincent
    I was a HUGE fan of the Cutting Edge, and Night Flight. Oddly enough, I recently discovered that a relative by marriage played on one of Peter Iver’s LPs back in the 60’s.
    I haven’t seen Urgh! in years, but I do remember the Fleshtones.
    L

  4. One night I went to see Echo and the Bunnymen at the Blackstone Theatre (I think) in Chicago. This was in the spring of ’85 (I think). Fleshtones opened….Fleshtones “broke up” onstage (not such an unusual occurance for them). To fill time, an itinerant busker was gragged in off the sidewalk. That was the first appearance on a U.S. stage by Billy Bragg.

  5. Little known fact…Peter Zaremba’s pop was John Zaremba of “Time Tunnel” fame.

    I saw the ‘Tones about a dozen times at Maxwell’s, Irving Plaza etc…and were always a pore-opening event.

    Bless-em.

  6. Saw the Fleshtones in Madison, Wi. in the early 80’s right after Hexbreaker was released. They were magic, using galvanized steel garbage cans as drums. I’ve never seen a crowd so in tune with a band. It was amazing. Gotta go out and get that book. Cheers.

  7. Pingback: Grandes discos del garage: The Fleshtones - Roman Gods: BlogOcio

  8. Pingback: Red Bank Orbit » Blog Archive » FLESHTONES ASSUME THE STANCE

  9. Pingback: ARCHIVE: Fleshtones Assume the Stance « upperWETside

Leave a Reply

