9 comments on “Glen Campbell – Guess I’m Dumb

  1. Nice One! Hurts me to my heart you talked a little trash about “Rhinestone Cowboy.” What can I say? As a 6 yr old youngster, in my cowboy outfit, it was one hell of a sing-a-long. That, along with the CLASSIC “Witchita Lineman” pretty much covers my Glen Campbell knowledge. Gonna have to do some further research after hearing this one. Of course, originating from the mastery of Brian Wilson doesn’t hurt. Thanks so much!!!

    Peace and SOUL,
    Dave…

  2. I’d heard this on Pet Projects a while back but wasn’t exactly blown away by Campbell’s vox. I guess i might have been prejudice since i’d heard the Beach Boys version. If you check out the Summer Days/Today compilation LP released a few years back it’s on there but only in instrumental form (the only version i’ve happened upon). While it’s nothing mad elaborate like the ‘Sounds to be and beyond, I always find myself distracted by that absolutely wicked melody whenever it pops up on the playlist. Glen just seems to get in the way 😀 … Sorry Glen. Few other great instrumental outtakes on there worth checking out too; including “Three Blind Mice” and a pre-Pet Sounds “Sloop John B”. Well worth buying/stealing despite the two of them being wrongfully overshadowed by the album to follow.

  3. there’s a whole lot of glen around right now which can only be a good thing – this is a top tune i’d kind of missed despite having on some dodgy comp somewhere for years so ta for reminding me to dig it out again.
    witchita lineman is top of the list so far of songs we’re trying to have preservation orders slapped on so no bugger can spoil it with a dire cover – is there anything you’d protect from all harm ?

  4. Great Blog!……There’s always something here to make me laugh…Keep doing what ya do 🙂

  5. I’m a longtime Glen Campbell fan and just heard this song for the first time yesterday. Stumbled upon it quite by accident on YouTube. Immediately fell in love with it. What a FANTASTIC piece and only fitting that Brian Wilson was the brains behind it. Downloaded it immediately and haven’t stopped playing it yet. Had it been released at a different point in history I’m quite sure it would have been a huge hit. Wish the whole world could hear it. Thanks for filling in the holes in your write-up. Certainly one of Glen’s best songs.

Leave a Reply

