14 comments on “Jacques Dutronc – Et Moi Et Moi Et Moi

  1. I quote you :
    “It almost doesn’t matter what Dutronc is really saying because the record is dripping with attitude”.

    It’s fun you realize that it is possible to enjoy a song without understanding the lyrics. Because for example my dad was a pink floyd and stones fan but he had never really matters about lyrics.
    90% of my music is in english and I appreciate it without the lyrics. Of course the the music is more important

  2. Thomas Dutronc, Jacque’s son, was the “global hit” featured last night on PRI Radio’s The World — http://theworld.org/ . I check in with both of your blogs enough to get this kind of synchronicity quite a lot. If you also wrote about country music…I would never get any work done. Great stuff — thanks!

  3. I think hearing the melody before the lyrics has more to do with an inherent appreciation than a learned method of listening, but that’s just me.

    I’m the same way – I always hear the sound first. My sister connects first with the lyrics. We grew up listening to the same stuff and then branched off into individual taste, but I think for some people music is more of a primal connection, if that makes any sense. (Tarzan like Dutronc!)

    Anyway, our predispositions allow our tastes to converge from time to time in the case of great songwriters. Mostly, though, we have fairly different tastes. She gives me the shifty eye when I play my foreign music. But, as you mentioned, I think there’s a lot to be said for the way lyrics are emoted and the presence of the song. Actually, I believe it’s almost easier to relate to a foreign language song. For better or worse, it can be like an evocative frame for you to paste your own interpretations inside. And, when you can’t tell what a person is saying, you are more drawn to the way they are saying it. It’s sort of like listening to a movie but not watching, or vice versa. You’re better apt to pick out and comprehend the subtle nuances of a performance on an innate level.

    Sorry… as you can see, you’re not the only verbose mofo round these parts. 😉 Anywho, thanks for another great post and have fun on your vacay! Bring us back something très exotique.

  4. Regarding your musings on the nature of your responses to melodies,I recommend “This is Your Brain on Music: The Science of a Human Obsession” by former music producer turned neuroscientist Daniel J. Levitin. It was a Staff Pick at Powell’s Books in Portland so, if you like it as much as I did, Powell’s gets the credit.

  5. Pingback: Mungo Jerry - Alright Alright Alright « Iron Leg

  6. Seven hundred million Chinese
    And me, and me and me
    With my life, my little home
    My headache, my Persian cat
    I think about it and then I forget
    That’s life, that’s life

    Eighty million Indonesians
    And me, and me and me
    With my car and my dog
    In Canigou where he plays
    I think about it and then I forget
    That’s life, that’s life

    Three or four hundred million blacks
    And me, and me and me
    Who will the Burnishing
    Sauna to lose weight
    I think about it and then I forget
    That’s life, that’s life

    Three hundred million Soviet
    And me, and me and me
    With my mannerisms and my tics
    In my little bed of goose feathers
    I think about it and then I forget
    That’s life, that’s life

    Fifty million people are imperfect
    And me, and me and me
    Watching Catherine Langeais
    On TV at home
    I think about it and then I forget
    That’s life, that’s life

    Nine hundred million die of hunger
    And me, and me and me
    With my vegetarian diet
    And all the whiskey I drink
    I think about it and then I forget
    That’s life, that’s life

    Five hundred million South Americans
    And me, and me and me
    I am naked in my bath
    With a woman who cleans me
    I think about it and then I forget
    That’s life, that’s life

    Fifty million Vietnamese
    And me, and me and me
    On Sunday in hunting rabbits
    With my rifle, I am the king
    I think about it and then I forget
    That’s life, that’s life

    Five hundred billion small Martians
    And me, and me and me
    Like a con in Paris
    I expect my check month-end
    I think about it and then I forget
    That’s life, that’s life

    I think about it and then I forget
    That’s life, that’s life

Leave a Reply

