10 comments on “Iron Leg Digital Trip #8 – Wood, Wire & Wind

  1. I’m collecting music for more than 30 years, and I’ve never heard of Sandy Bull. In my database are nearly 24,000 names of musicians and groups, but no Sandy Bull. I don’t understand how this could be possible.
    Many thanks, Larry, for putting this forgotten genius in your Iron Leg Digitap Trip. I’ve been busy for hours searching information about Sandy Bull, and of course downloading some more songs of him. ‘Memphis Tennessee’, ‘No deposit, no return blues’ and ‘Electric blend’ are outstanding (and extremely psychedelic)! Thanks again.

  2. Thanks Dirk! I’m discovering new stuff all the time. I was led to Sandy Bull via my love for the sound of the oud. Maybe someday I’ll have to put up a mix with something by Hamza El Din or Anouar Brahem.
    Larry

  3. Hi Larry – been following Funky 16 Corners for a couple of years, and I love the Iron Leg sister site – thanks so much for sharing your passions with us every week. Just a quick note on this playlist – I’m not a hundred percent sure, but I think the names of the two Fahey tunes might’ve gotten swapped for each other. I’m pretty sure Sunflower River Blues is the shorter of the two. Keep the music coming!

  4. Dan
    You may be right. I recorded the tracks off of the Fahey album as listed, but I have some memory of having heard ‘Sunflower River Blues’ years ago in a movie, and then being surprised when I picked up the album that my recollection of song – to-title appeared to be wrong. It wouldn’t be the first time a record company mislabeled tracks.
    Larry

  5. This mix was a creeper for me. At first listen, nothing really struck me. It wasn’t until recently that I realized quite a few songs on my “favorites” playlist were from this mix. Namely Tom Rush, Fred Neil, Sandy Bull, and Mimi and Richard Farina. I can’t thank you enough for all the work you put into Iron Leg and Funky 16 Corners. They have been such a source of musical inspiration for me.

  6. Pingback: A Song for Sunday #32 « A Terrible Blogger is Born!

Leave a Reply

