4 comments on “Kongos – He’s Gonna Step On You Again

  1. I’ve never heard that before. It’s good. I never paid much attention to the Manchester scene which was huge in Britain . The only UK bands I liked from then were the Fall and My Bloody Valentine. It was all things American in those days!

  2. You’re twistin my melon man? Had know idea Step On was a cover. Really one of the classics of the Britpop era. Interesting to hear this sinister cover for sure. Im starting to wonder if any classics of my youth were complete ripoff merchants. All the same, sometimes for the better, as quite arguably in this case here.

    The Happy Mondays probably went over a lot of folks heads in Stateside. But they absolutely defined an era in the UK/Ireland.

  3. Agree with GG – is anything new?! The Happy Mondays and The Stone Roses et al are responsible for dragging Britain out of a mire of mass-produced overblown shiny pop (cf Rick Astley – although most of the artistes involved actually could dance, unlike our Rick).
    And now you tell me it’s a cover. Step On was and always will be the epitome of that era for me.

Leave a Reply

