13 comments on “Iron Leg Digital Trip #28 – I Just Want To Be Your Friend: The Sounds of Curt Boettcher

  1. I’ve got to say, this is not the sort of stuff I’d normally give much time – sunshine pop is a little too sunny and a little too poppy for me generally – but reading about your road to appreciation for it, I think I’ll give it a go. Thanks! W.

  2. Hi Larry

    a long overdue compilation of one of the most underrated artists of the 60s, simply W-O-N-D-E-R-F-U-L , every tune of your selection is really outstanding. Heartfelt thanks for this one and for your ongoin’ efforts!

    You’ve got a friend in Milano!

    PS: I’ve used some of the tracks you’re posting for my installments you’ll find at http://michaelvee.livejournal.com

  3. a great “resource” post, Larry; and my “evolution” re: this type music mirrors yours almost exactly, having grown up on a little of it w/AM radio, but resistant for the most part. Never thought I’d appreciate ANYTHING Tommy Roe did, but–el wrongo!

    thanks so much for this great post and the tip-sheet for further investigation.


  4. Fantastic mix and overview of Boettcher’s career.

    Feel free to do the same on Michael Brown or Graham Gouldman.

  5. In 1975 Curt Boetcher was one of the names on a SAILOR album-first time I heard the name.Check out all the SAILOR albums-I think it was Trouble.
    But at least this man was luckier than the SEDATE SUNSHINE COLONY who never even bubbled under either as the SSC or their alter ego BENTLEY ROAD

  6. Larry, there are some inaccuracies in your post concerning Sagittarius and The Millennium. The Millennium predated Sagittarius. Gary Usher was our executive producer and instrumental in encouraging CBS to keep funding our over-budget project. Gary’s Sagittarius project was a side-line for many of the Millennium members, along with myriad other musicians, and we contributed varying amounts to that project, but this was after the formation of the final 7 man group and we were already well into recording Begin. Just thought I’d set the record straight.

    • Hey, Michael!

      Glad you commented on this post. I will be filming the Standells show this weekend, so I will make a DVD copy for your & Elizabeth’s amusement! Hope to see you again soon in the neighborhood!

  7. Pingback: Sounds of the Millennium #1 – Puppet – Best Friend « Iron Leg

Leave a Reply

