7 comments on “Mariano and the Unbelievables – Wack Wack

  1. Larry, this is unbelievable (all puns intended,of course) but oh, so memorable. I had the LP at one time …ah, those days of 44 cent cutouts at Woolworth’s …now THERE was a time …at one point I had 8 copies of the International Submarine Band at 44 cents a piece and GAVE them away (They’re at $100+ I’m sure by now and I have one last one left).
    Being a formally trained (but much relapsed) classical pianist records like this and The Left Banke and some other similar one on Tower and Joshua Rifkin’s The Baroque Beatles LP on Elektra and The (Faux) Electric Prune’s Mass in F Minor and Kol Nidre were my bread and butter for a couple of years. Yes, they were for SUCH a small audience (can you imagine the horror of getting one of these for Christmas when you wanted The Beatles ‘Rubber Soul”?) and they do seem like a combination of curiousity & monstrosity but they did have a certain charm and function. For one they allowed the fresh melodies that were being written to actually be heard in a different context that ‘almost’ made them seem legitimate to ‘older’ listeners who might have otherwise completely scorned the songs of that era’s youth. Though I ndoubt they made many converts, they do provide a potent reminder as to how far quite a few record companies would take it in search of sales. I’ll bet they would almost constitute a definable sub-genre like ‘Sunshine Pop’ has become in the last ten years.
    I’d love to hear the whole LP again. thanks for pulling Wack Wack out and sharing it. Your continual sense of adventure mirrors my own and I truly appreciate all your efforts.

  2. I’ve always loved the Young Holt version, but man-o-man, you are so right: I want this to be the theme song of the sitcom of my life!
    Thanks!

  3. Duncan
    44 cent ISB albums? Are you trying to make me lose my mind?
    I agree that this really is part of a minor subgenre. I’m going to have to start digging more of it up. I have an LP by ‘Lady Nelson and the Lords’ which is composed of upper-crusty organ versions of pop hits (maybe ’67/’68?).
    L

    • Yeah, I know! It was in 1971-2 and I was a Byrds Sweetheart of the Rodeo fanatic, covering most of that Lp and The Burrito’s Gilded Palace in Jam sessions and pickup solo gigs so I knew about the LP already. One day I walked into Woolworth’s (I worked at a record store in Eastview Mall in Victor, NY outside of Rochgester, NY) and there was a new ‘dump’ of cutouts and in it I found a total of 8 ISB Lps and bought them all at 44 cents each (plus a lot more in that pile). I gave them away judiciously to friends who could appreciate them and eventually sold the last 2 of three for $50 each in the last 70s and early 80s. I still have very nice Xerox prints a friend of mine did at the Xerox color print research lab of the covers in LP and Reel-to-reel size (even though it’s a black & white cover…you should see some of the color Xerox prints I have from 1972 still…they must be antiques of some sort by now).
      I really miss those days when you could buy record company ‘mistakes’ for 5 for $2. Biy, I got great stuff then and for sure missed a lot of stuff that much later I would recall and bemoan my igtnorance. Don’t even get me started on the Arlan’s Discount Store Early 60s Atlanti Records cutouts that were 4 for $1! It’s been 40 years and I am Still haunted by those Chris Kenner, Solomon BVurke and King Curtis etc LP covers! Ah Youth! WAsted on the young1

  4. My husband was one of the original UNBELIEVABLES in this group. For some reason, on this particular cover, they chose not to use the UNBELIEVABLES and put Mariano with fakes.

    Amusing in that we just held an UNBELIEVABLES reunion and the guys were quite appalled when the record company and manager did this.

  5. My husband was one of the original Unbelievables in this group. For some reason, on this particular cover, they chose not to use the group and put Mariano with fakes.

    Amusing in that we just held an UNBELIEVABLES reunion and the guys were quite appalled when the record company and manager did this.

  6. Thanks for the memories…
    Any chance for uploading more, especially tracks 1-4 on side A (Up Up and Away, Can’t Take My Eyes Off You, Windy, Sunday Will Never be the Same)?

Leave a Reply

