15 comments on “New Zealand Trading Company – Could Be

  1. bit of a mystery band for sure, i do think they had at least one New Zealander as a member. For some reason the band is advertised on Chess/Cadet LP inner sleeves but I’m unsure if they ever had anything released through there.

      • Yes, Thomas Eddie and kawana were all maori gents native new zealenders. Incredible musicians. The other two were my parents. Both Australians. I will ask them waht other releses they made. I have a live recording of something they did but I think it was a former incarnation with thomas called the maori hi quinns. late 60’s. if your curious for more info shoot me an email. great to see someone out there heard the beautiful stuf they were making!

      • Yes, Thomas Eddie and kawana were all maori gents native new zealenders. Incredible musicians. The other two were my parents. Lyn Alvarez and Neville Turner, Both Australians. I will ask them waht other releses they made. I have a live recording of something they did but I think it was a former incarnation with Thomas called the maori hi quinns. They also had a group called the Maori Troubadours. late 60’s. early 70’s. I think Trading co was the last incarnation. but they all went on to do many wonderful projects. if your curious for more info shoot me an email. great to see someone out there heard the beautiful stuf they were making!

    • I was the leader of the NZTC
      I wrote all the charts.
      We had two maori-two Cuban-one Aussi and me from the UK.
      It was a fantastic group more suited to live performances tha recording hits.
      I spent the best years of my life with these guys.
      I would be glad to send any info.
      Maurice.

      • HI THERE MAURICE…THIS IS NATALIE ROSENBERG IN MEMPHIS. I HOPE YOU REMEMBER ME….I PRODUCED YOUR FANTASTIC ALBUM ON MEMPHIS RECORDS AT UNIVERSAL RECORDING…..I HAVE OFTEN WONDERED WHAT HAPPENED TO YOU AND YOUR AMAZING GROUP, THE NEW ZEALAND TRADING COMPANY. IT’S BEEN A LONG TIME, BUT YOUR MUSIC STILL HOLDS UP AND OBVIOUSLY IS APPRECIATED BY THOUSANDS ON THE INTERNET….I HOPE THIS MESSAGE FINDS YOU IN GOOD HEALTH AND HAPPINESS…..KINDEST REGARDS…………….NATALIE

      • Dear Maurice – I am a New Zealand music historian writing a piece on Thomas Kini. Could I ask you a few questions. with thanks – Chris Bourke
        [ chrisbk (A) xtra.co.nz ]

  2. Interestingly enough, I didn’t know it at the time but I was living in the high-rise apartment building the band stayed in while they were in Memphis recording. A friend and I went up to the roof and accidentally let the door lock behind us. We shinned down the back side of the building to the one floor that had a balcony and found ourselves out on Thomas Kini’s balcony looking in at him while he rolled a joint. You can imagine how shocked he was to see us since there was, supposedly, no way out to his balcony except through his room. What a laugh we all had! We became friends and went with the band to the recording studio. I even took Thomas on a tour of the zoo. Before they left, they gave us their album. I’m now married to an Australian and we hope to move to Oz in a few years. It would be fun to meet up with the band again. If you’re in touch with Thomas, tell him I said hi after all the years. I’m writing a short story about the friend who was with me out on the balcony. He was among the first few to die of Aids. As I was writing about the balcony adventure today, I got to wondering whatever happened to the band and looked it up.

    • Debby,
      I was the leader of the NZTC at that time.
      Thomas and Kay have passed away.
      I’m Maurice(Piano)did we ever meet?
      What a great story.
      Love to hear from you.
      Maurice.

      • Hello Maurice, are you Maurice Moore? I’d you are then wow! I am Neville (turner) and Lynette Alvarez’s daughter! They were both in the NZTC with you. I saw some amazing old slides of you on new years day as we were commemorating on behalf of my father who sadly passed away on the 1/1/11 of lung cancer. He was diagnosed and gone in 6 weeks so we were all devastated and shocked and miss him dearly.. My mother would love to get in touch with you I am sure.. We saw Thomas only a couple of years before he passed away when he came out to visit dad.. It was very special.. I hope you are well and dad would be blown away to know I contacted you!
        Emily

  3. I picked this album up for my dad who saw New Zealand Trading Company play live at the Playboy Club in Lake Geneva. I’m not sure of the time frame, but I’m guessing late 60s/early 70s. I ended up listening to it and really liking it as well!

    • It really is an underrated LP. I think people expect something heavier or more soulful (almost everything else on that label was soul) but it’s a really good pop/rock album.

  4. Maurice,

    Natalie Rosenberg and I were together recently at a party, and we began reminiscing about TNZTC and all the guys. Those were really fun times in Lake Geneva at the club….used to love to hear you guys play, as you know! I always felt like you had a terrific talent and sound. Glad to have been a part of getting you the album….but of course would have loved to have seen more happen with it. But as Natalie said, I am glad that so many people, even now, appreciate the great music you guys created. My best to you and do hope you are doing very well!!

    Ron

  5. Pingback: The New Zealand Trading Co. | Chess Treasures

Leave a Reply

