8 comments on “Pizzicato Five – Twiggy Twiggy

  1. This is unexpected, but then again, that’s what makes coming here such a gass! I’ve got a bunch of tunes from this group (thanks to the fine folks at eMusic of course), so I will have to do the comparison thing. I’ll let you know what I come up with.

    Peace and blessings.

  2. Excellent post. It’s been a long time since I’d dusted off my P5 records, still sounds as groovy as I remember! The video is an added bonus, I’d never seen that before.

    As for the Jimmy Smith sample, try taking the opening few bars (the initial horns riff after the drums) and open it with Audacity and change the pitch up 4 semitones – it’s pretty close!

    You’ll be diggin’ on Broadcast next 😉

  3. TC
    I think you may be right about the manipulation of the track.
    I actually like Broadcast, Komeda and a bunch of the other retro-ish 90s stuff (though I don’t have any of it on vinyl).
    L

  4. I’m thrilled to see you featuring P5. I’m also glad to read that you enjoy sample-based music. A lot of “serious music lovers” love to bash this stuff but they truly don’t know what they’re missing. To me a lot of this material is much more creative than picking up a guitar and picking out the same old riffs. Oh well, to each his own I guess. How about an entire Iron Leg mix of this type of thing?

  5. Oh man, I’d completely forgotten how much I loved P5. Got to see them twice in NYC, and they were absolutely overwhelming. Thanks.

  6. whoa, whoa…I want to hear *this*, which you mention so briefly in passing:

    ‘Twiggy Twiggy’ (which is actually a cover/restructuring of a 1981 version of the song by Pizzicato Five singer Maki Nomiya)

    Also, have you checked out Fantastic Plastic Machine, or any of the Sound Concierge compilations by FPM mastermind Tanaka Tomoyuki? You won’t be disappointed.

  7. I always thought the drums were from the opening of Gone Gone Gone by the Everly Bros – but it is Hawaii 5-0

Leave a Reply

