One comment on “Dino, Desi & Billy – The Rebel Kind

  1. Larry, great tune. I found out this was recently covered by a band called Gringo Star; not bad.

    As a tenderfoot collector I started picking up the D,D & B records as an older friend told me James Burton’s guitar was all over them. I believe that Don “Dirt” Lanier and Al Casey, both Hazlewood’s old friends from Phoenix played guitar on these too.

    For me their non-cover tunes were most enjoyable; there was one called “She’s So Far Out She’s In” that I had on mix tapes for years.

    One last thing, they did a one-off single called “Please Don’t Fight It” (originally a Knickerbockers album cut) that has an incredible Burton solo on it and got lots of airplay in pockets of the country. The late Bob Quine (Voidoids, Lou Reed etc) was a Burton aficionado and rated it as one of his favorites.

    Oh, and you haven’t lived until you’ve heard D,D & B do Slim Harpo’s “Scratch My Back.”

Leave a Reply

