2 comments on “The Velvet Underground – Heroin

  1. I’ve found this release curious too as I’m pretty sure it happened after Mike Curb took over MGM and kicked out all the “druggies” including the VU. Considering MGM did almost all their roster in the “GAS” series, even the Mothers of Invention, I’d guess it was more a case of anyone who had any chart action, no matter how small, and enough material to support an album got one. They didn’t want them on the current roster anymore but I guess they still weren’t above trying to squeeze out a few extra pennies.

    And on that note, why did Sundazed, who I’m starting to have a love/hate relationship with, feel the need to reissue this? It is a pretty good comp in spite of itself, but it’s not the kind of thing that has enough uniqueness about it to warrant a reissue, nor is particularly rare or expensive, at least not in my neck of the woods. I see this one in the wild regularly and in the sub $20 range usually. I should probably stop trying to understand what gets reissued these days and why. It just gives me a headache.

    Anyway, keep on keeping on. Love the show and blog.

  2. Wow! I can’t believe it was reissued! It certainly seems an odd choice, in content, and availability of the original. It’s a curiosity, but not a lot more.
    And thanks for the kind words about the blog and the show’

Leave a Reply

