25 comments on “Iron Leg Digital Trip #11 – Gravel Vol 1 – Riot On the Garden State Parkway

  1. BRILLIANT Larry! A great read as always, you’ve lost neither your wit nor your memory. All these years later its still great reading about something I was a part of written by somebody else. I guess it helps reinforce the fact that I didn’t hallucinate all this!

  2. Thanks Bill.
    I think one of the reasons I decided to do this was to keep these facts (as they are) from slipping from my memory completely. It’s been almost 25 years, and I remember some of this like it was yesterday, and other parts almost not at all. If you (or anyone else that was there) have any corrections/addenda, don’t hesitate to let me know.
    Larry

    PS Can you remember any of the other bands that played at the Bike?

  3. Yo. Always diggin’ on the blog. I reference it from time to tim as I’m sure you have noticed.

    I wanted to share something special with you as well and hope that if you think it’s worthy, you would what you would do for any worthy content.

    http://universoulproductions.wordpress.com/2008/05/19/the-green-album/

    and

    http://universoulproductions.wordpress.com/2008/05/12/the-green-album-cover-art/

    Appreciate it. Stay up and don’t hesitate to holler any time.

    Peace.

    Omer
    http://universoulproductions.wordpress.com

  4. Was the Dive located around 26th and 8th? I went to see a movie shown by Gore Gazette (a different zine from a different scene) at a place I thought was called the Dive which had chairs and tables attached to the ceiling.

    • It was on West 29th Street betwqeen 8th and 9th Avenues and the Gore Gazzette did indeed host horror flicks there (my late pal Rudie managed to bridge both “scenes” and went to a few films there on a weeknight if memory serves me well). Though I can’t say I recall any chairs or tables on the ceiling…………

  5. Interesting read and information supplied about your times in the mid 80s.
    I’ve been digging through my old boxes of neo garage/psych 45 and have been reviewing some of them on my blog. I intend to write about 50 singles worthy of attention then maybe write about some more at a later time.

    I also plan to master a neo garage/psych CDR titled ‘Hung On You’ (after the famous 60s psychedelic men’s clothes shop in Kings Road, Chelsea)……like you said in your article many of the bands and scene makers during the 80s had to look the part aswell in purist mod/garage threads, so it’s a fitting tribute.

    If I get around to compiling ‘Hung On You’ I’ll send you a copy Larry…..you just gotta send me your address via emai….

    expo67l

    http://expo67-cavestones.blogspot.com/

  6. Sander
    The Dive was (if memory serves) on 29th st. Gore Gazette did show movies there, and the guy that did that zine (Rick Sullivan) had a band (the Creeping Pumpkins, I think…).
    It was a great little bar, in a fairly quiet/safe neighborhood full of furriers.
    Larry

  7. Some great songs here man, must of been something else to be involved in that whole scene just as it was cresting. Some really tight tunes on a mission for sure

    I’ve also bookmarked your site Expo67. Some really hip looking bands and solid readups. The Misanthropes… what a name. Good to see the Jam there too. Really got back into digging these guys something major. As you say, the earlier material moreso. They ripped it off in style 🙂

    Thanks again for the ultra-obscure New Jersey mixmash, Larry. Look forward to the NYC one.

  8. nj rules larry but you know that already!

    how about harry bagg’s ear wax fanzine?

    got any old copies of that laying around???

    i know i do, somewhere!

    nice mix!
    cheers!
    dd

  9. Oh man, I practically lived at the Dirt Club in late 1981 and in 1982. Buzzy the doorman would wave me in and I’d dig on the likes of the Why-Ohs and the Jitterz. I remember the first time I saw the Smithereens, they were opening for some novelty Beatles tribute band – talk about misplaced priorities!

  10. Hey–nice site. Oftened wondered how many of us mid-80’s punkadelic types made the transition to the psych-funk/library/spy/now-sound/sitar-psych/(s)exploito-biker/blaxploitation (etc.!) world which I’ve found myself navigating since the early 90’s. As re: the 80’s garage revival, when’s someone going to seriously document that scene?? Tho, granted, it would necessitate a courageous trawl through a minefield of mediocrity!!)? Again, nice stuff here-

  11. Lar, I know it was more of the NYC offshoot scene, but a mention or two of The Vipers, Fuzztones, Prime Movers, Cheepskates, Tryfles, The Impossible Years, Outta Place ands the shows at Irving Plaza, the 240 Club etc, Maxwell’s etc.

    I once asked Jeff Monoman about the retro scene and he said the only band worth shit was The Mosquitos. Can’t say he was wrong save the fact, their manager dragged their asses down the sell-out abyss .

    BTW…Ronnie Rimsite (he was originally known as Ronnie Ramone) grew up a few blocks away from me in town.

    Good stuff as usual, Lar.

  12. Hey Larry,
    Good thing you and Bill were there to take the photos. I barely remember the 80’s let alone The Dive. Well…that’s not completely true, but unfortunately a lot hass slipped away. That was a great article. It was included in the MF wikipedia page as a reference. Take care man…Hope all is well…
    Bob Strete

  13. Good job, my old friend!

    Saves me from having to jump back into the mix and do a New Jersey episode myself! Any chance of an NJ volume 2 with a couple more songs from some of these bands, plus maybe some Narc Twins and a few others, perhaps including The Watch Children?

  14. Hey Blair! I don’t expect to do a second NJ volume, especially since I don’t have any of those cassett only releases anymore. I may include some more Jersey content in a future mix of 90’s stuff.
    Check out the recent NYC mix. I suspect we may have a (congenial) debate on our hands.
    Larry

  15. Hey Larry – haven’t checked out your blog in awhile, so I’m just now getting to see/hear this excellent mix from the past. Sure brings back memories.

  16. Larry –

    Terrific stuff here. I’m glad someone had the presence of mind to record these facts (or memories of what might have been facts) for posterity. I must say I miss the cavestomp days at The Dive.

    BTW, I’ve seen your brother Chris a few times in the past year or so. Any chance of a Phantom Five reunion??

    Keep up the awesome work!

    Regards,
    Chris

  17. Chris
    Thanks for stopping by.
    There actually was a Phantom Five reunion at Chris’s 40th birthday this past year. No current plans for a repeat performance in front of a paying audience.
    Larry

  18. Larry –

    Hey…good to see your comment here. Too bad that The Phantom Five aren’t planning to reunite…in my [recent] experience band reunions can be an awful lot of fun. Although I suppose they can also be a lot of awful fun!!

    I wish I could have been at Chris’s 40th – sounds like it must have been a blast!

    Cheers!
    C-

  19. Great piece Larry!! LOVE IT!! Brings back TONS of memories!! Hope you can attend the Secret Syde 25th Anniversary Show April 25th, 2009 at where else?? The Brighton Bar!!!! The secret Syde are Jon Davies, Steve DeVito, Dave DeSantis, and Rob Angello
    Hope you can make it….SPREAD THE WORD!!! Maybe you can get me a new recording of Great Jones Street!!!

Leave a Reply

